Hearing Assessment (Adults)

Pure Tone Audiometry (PTA)

This test is used to determine the nature of hearing loss: conductive, mixed, sensorineural and central loss. It also differentiates hearing loss severity into five main categories: mild, moderate, moderately-severe, severe and profound loss.

Immittance Audiometry (IA)

(a) Tympanometry

This test can evaluate eardrum mobility. It can also help to diagnose middle ear pathology, e.g. middle ear infection.

(b) Acoustic Reflex Threshold

This test is used to assess the function of reflex muscles in the middle ear. Middle ear muscles will contract in response to loud sound s in normal hearing person.

Otoacoustic Emissions (OAE)

This test is used to assess inner ear (cochlear) function and also help to rule out middle ear pathology. It also provides objective inference of hearing sensitivity.